Motivation, Me, Malala & YOU

I want to know–what motivates YOU? I’ve been struggling with a new blog post for over two weeks now. Lots of ideas; that part wasn’t a problem. And I like to blog. But I just haven’t been able to get the work done. I want to, because I want to give away another of Katy Bowman’s books, Move Your DNA, and THIS post will reveal the next way to win. Feeling motivated? Read on!

Unknown-4

But I want to motivate you, my dear reader, to not only try to win a book, but to change your life. I can’t do that for you–I have a hard enough time changing myself! Knowing what motivates you would be helpful.

I can tell you what motivates me: fear and pain. Yep those two get me going every time. When I see people struggling with mobility I am motivated by fear of becoming them. I would like to keep moving as I grow older. And when, in my 40’s, I started to hurt myself by moving forward (aggressively, you know, from fear), pain motivated me to evaluate how I was moving.

Maybe that is why I haven’t been motivated to write this blog. Because until now, the deadline was far away enough to not be afraid of missing the opportunity to share with you. And of course, it is always sort of scary to write down something really personal, so that motivated me to do anything else. And, since I’m using this format to gauge my readership, I might painfully discover how little my blog is really read.

But. Here I am!! And if you are reading this, yay! And I have to admit, I am also motivated by inspiring people including students, teachers, and leaders. This week Malala Yousafzai won the Nobel Peace Prize. At 17. Her motivation was a dedication to seeing girls get access to education in Pakistan. She motivates me to be a teacher worthy of her efforts and the efforts of all my clientele that come to me to learn how to move and become healthier.

And REALLY I want to know: What motivates YOU???? Here’s how you will register to win Katy’s book: answer my question. Reply to this blog or comment on On The Path Yoga’s Facebook page with your honest answer. I will put your name in the drawing and let you know by the end of October if you are the winner. Thank you! By knowing what motivates you, I can be  a teacher worthy of your time.

5 thoughts on “Motivation, Me, Malala & YOU

  1. Kat says:

    I’m almost 18 years post cancer. 18 years I may not have had. I’m here, so I’m doing the best I can to make my life one that is well lived and not filled with regrets. Carpe diem!

  2. Pam says:

    I have had past ankle surgeries and lost mobility. Through yoga I am experiencing greater movement and of course it is a continuing process. My practise of yoga with the amazing instructors are raising me up to a higher level I would not had known.

  3. Judy says:

    I am so thankful to have found OTPY and the wonderful instructors. Yoga is helping me with my goal of staying active and even improving my mobility into my senior years, but also with helping me experience times of complete calm and “letting go” that cleanse and revitalize me mentally and emotionally.

  4. Pam Snow says:

    The positive impact of Yoga continues to motivate me. The physical improvement of my knees and general flexibility of my body support the balance Yoga helps me strive for in many ways in my life. It is life altering.

  5. Allison says:

    Needing to know and understand motivates me whether it is answering someone’s question at work or seeing what is over the next hill as I hike or evening trying to know and understand what I’m capable of.

Leave a Reply

