Sunday Morning Coffee

I love Sunday morning. Even though I’m not currently involved in a religious community right now, having been brought up in a tradition of observing a time of reflection, it sticks.

So, I have my coffee and one of two things result: quiet time on the deck or a meditative walk with week-in-review-time in my head. Guess what: it is time for a rant.

I almost titled this blog “Dear Exercise Science Major Please Note: The Foot Does NOT Pronate” because that is what this rant will be about. But I like “Sunday Morning Coffee” better because it sounds nice and I’m nice and I really don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings. But, then again, this isn’t about feelings, it is about understanding. One thing a college education should teach you is how to discern information, especially information within your field of study.

So, last week was Father’s Day and I took my wonderful spouse out for brunch. It was a glorious, kick back in your chair kind of meal out on a deck, casual enough to put our feet up on the extra chairs. Seeing my husband’s shoes, our really nice waitress struck up a conversation about running and shoes and she pronates and is an Exercise Science Major going into Physical Therapy. And I said, “feet don’t pronate.”

Please know this. It is important. Pronation is a movement that only happens in a human body within the relationship between your wrist and elbow due to the fact your radius and ulna can rotate. ROTATE. So if you are told by a shoe salesperson that your feet “pronate” (which they don’t), and you need expensive, supportive shoes to “fix” pronation, what the SHOE salesperson is trying to sell you is essentially snake oil.

bowlegs

You don’t need special shoes. You need hips that are strong enough to align your knees. I can explain this or I can just send you to this video clip by Katy Bowman. She is the shit, so watch her explanation please!

The lateral hip is pretty stinking important. Keep yours strong. Because what is rotating is your knee. Not. your. foot. Your feet most likely turn out, but that is called eversion, which is most likely due to you shifting your weight forward in your foot toward your big toe knuckle. Let’s just say there is a bunch wrong with that and stick to the knees for now. You don’t want your knee to rotate, mkay?

And so now I can go finish my Sunday morning walk, practice using my lateral hip, and return to coffee on the deck. Have a beautiful day my friends!

One thought on “Sunday Morning Coffee

  1. Pam says:

    Nice coffee beak. I always learn things from you….

Leave a Reply

